I’ve met so many people in my life that I’m bound to not remember them all.

So, sometimes I forget who someone is.

And they say: “Hey! It’s good to see you again!”

I don’t know what to do.

Do I say hi and pretend I recognize them?

Or, do I ask: “Sorry, who are you again?”

Both have their negatives.

If I say hi, what if that person starts reminiscing and asks me questions?

What if I have no idea what that person is talking about? Do I continue attempting to act like I know the person, or do I finally come clean?

If I ask who someone is, he or she might become insulted. What if it’s someone of importance? What if we were friends at some point?

I know I would feel bad if I remembered someone and they forgot me.

Of course, most of the time, I eventually recognize the person. If I don’t, I do usually ask who the person is because why bother lying if they will figure it out at some point?

So, perhaps we feel guilt when we don’t act the way someone expects us to. But, all we have to do is ask. Maybe the person would be disappointed if you don’t remember them, but it’s better than not remembering their name and pretending to know the person.

Or, sometimes, all you have to do is say hi. Not always do you have to stop to have a long conversation with someone.

 

 

 

 

